The Jury Process

How It Works

Companies register eligible productions for METAs consideration one month prior to opening (for details about eligibility, visit In the 2019-20 season, 17 productions were assessed by 13 companies across 16 award categories prior to the widespread cancellations. In addition, honorary awards are bestowed each year including the Unsung Hero of the Theatre (UHOT) Award honouring production or administrative personnel, and the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Award recognizing practices of access and inclusion.

The Jury

The METAs Jury – comprised of more than 25 theatre professionals from varied disciplines – convenes quarterly to discuss the merits of productions seen, generate a list of nominees, and ultimately select the recipients by secret ballot. A separate Community Jury determines the Community Theatre Award. This year, the Community Award had to be revoked due to lack of registered productions seen by the jury prior to the pandemic. Voting is tabulated by an independent auditor, who retains the results until the ceremony in November.

Who are these jurors? They are you:  established and emerging professionals – directors, actors, designers, stage managers, writers and administrators – charged with the task of evaluating diverse artistic choices and accomplishments. Why do they volunteer their time and expertise? They are committed to sharing that expertise to recognize outstanding work, to foster pride in this community, and to develop the critical awareness of its practitioners. Their contribution to the process is priceless.