Committee (The METAC)

The METAs is managed by a volunteer Committee (the METAC) of active members of the theatre community from varying disciplines who are committed to guiding and fulfilling the METAs mandate, ensuring its integrity as a project “by the community and for the community”.
The METAC’s responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • Jury renewal and oversight of jury process;
  • Determining awards criteria, including special awards;
  • Liaising with theatre companies and producers;
  • Organizing and producing the Awards Ceremony;
  • Fundraising and Public Relations;
  • Fiscal responsibility;
  • Ensuring the successful continuance of the METAs.

Jessica Abdallah - Headshot (June 2020

Jessica Abdallah (Co-Jury Liaison)

Jessica Abdallah is a Montreal-based director, teacher, and theatre creator who has been bringing stories to life for almost 20 years. She is a graduate of John Abbott College’s Acting program, Concordia University’s Theatre & Development program, and the MFA in Directing at the University of Alberta. Favourite directing credits include The One (Hopegrown Productions), a staged reading of What Rough Beast (Centaur Theatre), the French and English versions of TUMIT (Akpik Theatre), Sedna: Goddess of the Sea – which she also wrote (Tableau D’Hôte Theatre), Rapture! (Everything is OK Productions) and Annie Mae’s Movement (UofA). Jessica is Artistic Associate at Geordie Theatre where she also runs the Geordie Theatre School. Jessica served on the 2016-17 and 2017-18 METAs Jury.

Karine Kerr-Gillespie - Headshot (June 2020

Karine Kerr-Gillespie (Sponsorship & Fundraising / Treasurer)

Holding a BFA from Concordia University and a graduate diploma in Public Relations Management from McGill University, Karine’s career path took her to managing non-for-profit art organizations. Currently the Executive Director of Main Film, she was previously at the helm of Repercussion Theatre, Montreal’s beloved Shakespeare-in-the-Park company. She hopes to continue to be part of this beautiful community.

Danielle Laurin

Danielle Laurin (Co-Jury Liaison)

Danielle is a stage manager and theatre artist based in Montreal. She completed her BFA in Design for the Theatre at Concordia University, after which she apprenticed at the Portland Playhouse in Portland, Oregon. Later, she earned her MFA in Stage Management from Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Virginia. In 2017, she interned at the Public Theatre in New York on David Byrne’s rock musical Joan of Arc: Into the Fire. In Montreal, she has worked with several theatre companies including Repercussion Theatre, The Segal Centre for Performing Arts, Centaur Theatre Company, Geordie Theatre, Imago Theatre and Tableau D’Hôte Theatre.


Orlando López (Chair / Communications)

Orlando started his theatre journey with Brave New Productions, when he took on the role of Stage Manager in their inaugural play “Fairy’s Tale” at the Montreal Fringe Festival in 2003. Since then, he’s worked on and off stage in all their productions, as well as continued to work with other Montreal theatre companies, including Theatre Plant (Triple Cross), Infinithéâtre (Trench Patterns), Teesri Duniya Theatre (The Refugee Hotel), Silk Road Foundation (The Domestic Crusaders), and Segal Centre for Performing Arts (The Times They Are A Changin’). His Social Media skills have been put to good use for various organizations, including Tourisme Montréal, and Centaur Theatre Company. He served in the 2016-2017 METAs Jury, and is very humbled to be part of the METAC!

Stephen Maclean Rogers - Headshot (June 2019)

Stephen Maclean Rogers (Co-Company Liaison)

Stephen Maclean Rogers emerged from a forest almost 6 years ago and decided to make Montreal his artistic home. He has since been working full time at the Segal Centre for Performing Arts as Company Manager and Rentals Coordinator while performing in various theatre productions and film projects (English/French), writing for theatre blogs (Bloody Underrated), and taking it all in. He recently formed To the Hilt Productions, which presented its inaugural piece, Dear Jax (nominated for Centaur Theatre’s Best English Production and winner of the Freestanding Room Award for Making Big Things Happen in Small Places), at the 2019 Montreal Fringe Festival. He feels privileged to be helping to honour the fine artists and creatives of Montreal as part of the METAC.

The METAC wishes to acknowledge the contributions of retired METAC members:

Eloi ArchamBaudoin, Deena Aziz, Trevor Barrette, Adèle Benoit, Tau S. Bui, Davide Chiazzese, Michaela Di Cesare, Danielle Desormeaux, Kym Dominique-Ferguson, Andrea Elalouf, Bonnie Feigenbaum, Alain Goulem, Corrina Hodgson, Shauna Janssen, Amanda Kellock, Tristan D. Lalla, Jacky Lalonde, Erin Lindsay, Dayane Ntibarikure, Elaine Normandeau, Leni Parker, Johanne Pomrenski, Vanessa Rigaux, Peter Roberts, Danielle Skene, Jen Viens, and Kathryn Westoll.